By design, a project cannot be deleted after it’s been published. This is for compliance purposes.
However, there’s a couple of features that can be used instead:
Decommissioning a single project version inactivates the version’s OData endpoint, so all future requests to that API will be unsuccessful. Here’s how to do it:
Archiving all versions from a project decommissions every existing version from a project